Animal magnetism

Just like many other 25 year olds I am partial to a spot of shopping. Ok, let’s be honest, given that I live on an island with a few boutiques and a couple of national chains any time I’m in the UK or fancy a bit of a flutter online I pretty much go way overboard.

My current favourite things to wear are sheer shirts, printed trousers, big fluffy jumpers and chunky woollen scarfs. There is however one large proportion of my wardrobe that I have so far neglected to mention, which I have become more than a little known for amongst my friends and work comrades. The printed animal motif. On anything. Shirts, scarfs, tops, jackets, you name it.  If it features an animal I probably own it.

A few snapshots of my personal faves:

Fox print shirt from George at Asda

foxes

Reindeer print scarf from M&S

M&S scarf

Bird print scarf from the Mathew Williamson at H&M range

mw H&M scarf

I can’t put my finger on exactly what it is that I’m so drawn too with this style of clothing, I’ve always been a fan of prints and patterns (hence the name of this blog!) and animal print in general, so I guess it’s only natural that I would like animal motifs. But more than that, I think I just like the fun, quirky nature that a lot of animal patterned clothing is about, especially the illustrated characters.

For any of you who are either totally with me on this trend or more of a sceptic, I have pulled together some of my favourite animal motif items in stores now. My favourite places to nail this look are Asos, high street favourites TopShop and New Look and great new website PrettyLittleThing.com who have a range of animals styles in clothing from shorts to knitwear and jeans to t-shirts.

My advice on rocking this trend is to stick to one key item and wear it with muted separates from denim shirts to leather skirts, these pieces are likely to be the main focus of your outfit so keep it simple to avoid overkill.

ASOS Highlights

boutique by jaegar ladybird 125 asosnw3 pug tshirt asos 35wildfox at asos 135 flamingoasos aurve rabbit print 35

Boutique by Jaegar ladybird print shirt available from Asos £125

NW3 pug t-shirt available from Asos £35

Wildfox flamingo jumper available from Asos £135

Asos Curve rabbit print shirt £35

TopShop Highlights

topshop cat burglar 38topshop racoon jumper was 40 now 25jw anderson topshop was 30 now 15topshop zebra shirt 40

Cat Burglar jumper £38

Raccoon jumper Emma Cook at TopShop was £40 now £25

Tortoise print jeans JW Anderson at TopShop were £30 now £15

Zebra print shirt £40

New Look Highlights

yumi shorts 29.99 online excbrat and suzie at new look 39.99 online exclusivehorse print new look was 22.99 now 17.24new look owl t 7.99

Yumi bird print shorts online exclusive £29.99

Brat and Suzie donkey jumper online exclusive available from New Look £39.99

Horse jumper was £22.99 now £17.24

Owl t-shirt £7.99

Pretty Little Thing.com Highlights

elephant necklace 10zebra bomber plt 12pretty little things 15plt bat leggings 10

Elephant necklace £10

Multicoloured zebra bomber jacket £12

Butterfly print shirt £15

Bat print leggings £10

 

3 thoughts on “Animal magnetism

  1. Pingback: Big and bold necklaces | Prints and postcards

  2. Pingback: Fashion Friday – Who doesn’t love a dog wearing glasses? | Prints and postcards

Leave a Reply

