Herm Island – Paradise Found

I’m sure I’m not the first person to refer to Herm as Paradise, and I certainly won’t be the last, but that’s exactly what it is. Sometimes I have to stop and pinch myself to realise how lucky I am to have this gorgeous haven of peace and tranquility (there’s no cars at all on the island, only quad bikes or tractors) just a hop, skip and jump away from my own native Guernsey.

This was not my first trip over to the island so far this summer, having been there only a few weeks earlier for the Real Ale and Cider Festival. But this time I went with my mum, big sis Emma and my gorgeous nephew three year old Sebastian (is that name good enough for you Katie Hopkins?!) for my mums birthday as we fancied doing something a little different and by going over on the 8.30am boat it was only £9 each return for us adults and a few pounds for Sebby, I can’t actually remember exactly how much but it wasn’t loads.

It was a gorgeous day and when we arrived at Belvoir Beach around 10am we were actually the only people there so felt like we were on our own private beach which was awesome. Given the heat and the sunshine, I did unfortunately get a little burnt on my face but thankfully not too badly and I also did something I never thought I would ever do which was sunbathe in a hoodie (it was a little windy at times despite the sunshine and I wanted to cover my red hair) and still get burnt! By anyones standards I’d say that’s pretty impressive?

Anyway, whilst we wandered along the sandy paths and up and down the winding hills I took some shots with my trusty Nikon as well as my iPhone and here is a collection of some of the stunning sights that Herm has to offer.

trident flowers in shade rosaire ship sign beach pink flower cow signsand castles sea spikynflower belvoir harbour pic church wild onion herm ice cream pink flower cusea2footprints

If you like what you see and want more information on visiting Herm you can find out more at their website here.

Have any of you ever had the pleasure of going to Herm Island? Did you like it?

signature2_edited-1

4 thoughts on “Herm Island – Paradise Found

  1. Pingback: Return to paradise » Well Blogger Me

  2. We have been going to Herm now for several years and it never fails to delight. Seeing photographs like these just makes me want to go more! Roll on next May Half Term.

Leave a Reply

