Starting Off: Skin care

The first week of the Starting Off project and it’s all things skin care!

Now, before I start I should probably make a little disclaimer that when it comes to skin care I am pretty lax and definitely tend to go for speed over substance. My skin type is oily/combination and I have a particularly oily t-zone so most of my skin care routine revolves around getting rid of pesky shine. For this post I have chosen my current favourites:

skincare

My current skincare routine – the cheats way to cleanse, tone and moisturise! 

As I use most of these products in the morning, I thought it would be best to run through my morning routine. The first thing I do is use my Neutrogena face scrub in the shower to get rid of any dead skins cells, this scrub is my favourite as it smells really fresh and is also gentle enough to be used everyday. I find it best to use a wet flannel to get this off which also helps to remove any last skin cells hanging around! Don’t forget the rest of your body in all this exfoliating malarky either, but make sure you always use a separate product for your body and face as the ones for your body will be harsher and are likely to irritate the delicate skin on your face.

face scrub

Depending on how dry my skin feels each morning I’ll either then use Garnier Moisture Match for oily/combination skin followed by Mac’s oil control lotion, or I’ll just use the oil control lotion by itself. I’ll be doing a more in depth review of this lotion in a few weeks, but I find both are good ways to keep shine away. It’s important not to use too much of each product as a little goes a long way, especially when it comes to moisturisers as using too much can actually make your skin way more oily.

moisturiser mac oil control

The last product I use in the morning before starting my make up is Boots No. 7 Colour Calming primer. Given the summer and being somewhat prone to sunburn (especially on my nose!) this product is always on hand to calm my red skin. It’s also a great product if you do any exercise at lunch time and like me come back looking like a bright red tomato! To balance and calm the redness in your skin, the product itself is actually green, but as long as you massage it in properly it won’t actually look green on your face. I can’t stress enough the importance of rubbing this product in properly though, because although it won’t look green it will dry white if it hasn’t properly soaked into your skin!

colour primer primer on handFinally, at the end of the day it’s important to always clean your face and remove all of your make up. As I mentioned earlier I’m rubbish at keeping up with a proper routine so for me face wipes are my go to. Normally I’m a sucker for a supermarket offer, and at the moment I’m using Waitrose 4 in 1 cleansing wipes which have a gorgeous smell and seem to do a good job of getting all of my make up off.

So that’s it folks, that’s how I attempt to keep my skin looking in tip top condition. I hope this has helped some of you, if you have any questions feel free to drop me a comment below!

signature2_edited-1

6 thoughts on “Starting Off: Skin care

  1. I really enjoy the Garnier Moisture Match range 🙂 Apart from then you want them all but there the wrong skin type :’) I haven’t tried much No7 but definitely something I would like to try 😀 Do you use any other of their products in the range?

    xxx

    itsaskinthing.blogspot.co.uk

  2. Pingback: Starting Off: Blusher | Prints and postcards

  3. Pingback: Starting Off: Mascara | Prints and postcards

Leave a Reply

