Starting Off: Concealer

Week 2 and the Starting Off project is in full swing with Twitter exploding last Tuesday at 6pm as all of the great posts about skin care went live. So far I’ve really loved seeing such a wide take on the theme of skin care, but I’m also a little concerned as I’ve already made two purchases following reading recommended products and it’s only week 2!

So this week it’s onto concealer. For me concealer is not just about covering pesky spots but also about dark circles or under eye bags when you’ve had a heavy night or maybe just haven’t slept very well the night before. So lets look at what I use and how I use them:

concealer

My trusty kit to hide all my sins! 

Firstly I should probably say that for any teens just starting out I wouldn’t necessarily recommend using some of the products at first as they are a little on the pricey side. Although the Benefit sets like the ‘Confessions of a Concealaholic‘ one I use are a great way to test out products before buying individual items.

Retailing for £28.50, and billed by Benefit as being a ‘concealing and brightening kit’, it contains 6 different products; 2 different shades of concealer, two eye brightening products, a primer and eye ‘camouflage’ and of all these products I currently use four of them, so for cost per item I think these sets are pretty good value.

benefit concealer

Inside Benefit’s Confessions of a Concealaholic

I like the fact that the kit has two shades of concealer (outside of the kit known as Boing!) which can be used separately or mixed together depending on where on my face I’m using them as my skin isn’t the same shade all over.  I always use the brush to apply concealer directly onto any spots and then use my fingers to blend in the colour so it’s evened out with my skin tone.

The products I don’t use within this kit are the ‘Erase Paste‘ and ‘Eye Bright‘ (the pink one in the above pic), mainly because I don’t feel it necessary to use Eye Bright which is for making the area around your eyes a little brighter and perkier, whilst Erase Paste is very good if you have quite chronic bags or darkness under your eyes but for me it was just a little too heavy.

Finally the last product I use everyday without fail from this kit, and in fact I have since bought separately, is Lemon Aid (the yellow one in the pic), which for everyday dark circles or eye bags is a great product for brightening beneath your eyes as the yellow balances out the purple tones you get under your eyes in the morning. I just use my fingers to apply a little of this, obviously apply as much as you feel is needed to cover any darker areas, and just dab it onto the skin. Make sure you don’t rub it in vigorously as the skin under your eyes is very delicate.

ysl and benefitThe dark circle dream team – Lemon Aid by Benefit and Touche Eclat from YSL

My partner in crime with Lemon Aid has got to be cult classic Touche Eclat from YSL, which is a highlighter pen that comes in three shades (1,2 & 3 which are generally speaking light, medium and dark), I use shade 1 and as this retails at about £20 for each pen I tend to always buy them in duty free or from eBay from reputable beauty sellers, and also look out for bulk buying two/three pens together to get a good deal too. This cult product basically makes light reflect off where it’s been applied to the skin so it’s great for under eyes. One big word of warning though is do NOT use this as a concealer, if you use it on spots it will highlight them more so don’t think just because it looks like a concealer that it is one!

My last go-to for concealing spots is a product I’ve been using for a long time, and comes from French brand Guinot, and it’s a matifying concealer which again I apply in the same way as Benefit’s Boing! I like this product because it’s more ‘liquid’ then the Benefit ones which means if you have a particularly troublesome spot that requires more extensive coverage this product can be built up until you’re happy that the spot is well hidden. I get this online from various websites and although it costs about £15-£20 for a 15ml bottle a little goes a long way, so cost per use for me is minimal.

guinot concealer

So that’s it from me for this week, those are my favourite products to cover up any blemishes and dark patches that we’d rather not show the world!

I hope you found this helpful, and if you’re also taking part in #theSOproject feel free to say hello below I’d love to hear what experiences you’ve had with any of these products or which products you use below.

signature2_edited-1

3 thoughts on “Starting Off: Concealer

  1. Pingback: Foundation (#theSOproject) | Blondes Love Cupcakes

  2. Pingback: Starting Off: Blusher | Prints and postcards

  3. Pingback: Starting Off: Mascara | Prints and postcards

Leave a Reply

